September17 , 2026

    X will now tell you if someone deletes a post you annotated with a Community Note

    Related

    Shailene Woodley’s Stylist, Karla Welch, Defends Her Emmys Outfit

    Shailene Woodley’s stylist, Karla Welch, claps back...

    Charli XCX is Playboy magazine’s fall covergirl

    me for @Playboy pic.twitter.com/4HwIKWGc6h— Charli (@charli_xcx) September...

    Snap tries to make the case again for its $2,200 smart glasses | TechCrunch

    When Snap debuted its long-awaited smart glasses, Specs,...

    Share


    If you add a Community Post to a post on X (formerly Twitter), X will tell you if the person who wrote the post deletes it, the company said on Friday.

    “Contributors consistently say their goal is to keep others well-informed,” X wrote on the Community Notes account. “This can happen when a helpful note appears on a post, and also when an erroneous post gets deleted. Starting today, writers will be notified when a post on which they wrote a note gets deleted.”

    The idea here seems to be to give people with the ability to add Community Notes another tool to keep other users accountable. On one hand, I think this could be really useful; writing about deleted posts is a key aspect of my job. But on the other, given the generally-bad vibes on X, I worry this tool may be abused to shame people who delete their posts over minor errors or factual inaccuracies.

    This new Community Notes feature is the second that X has added this week. On Tuesday, X announced that people rating a note will see more note proposals so they can “consider other notes before submitting their rating.” X owner Elon Musk is a big advocate for Community Notes, and the feature has gotten some notable updates, including expansions to images and videos, since he took over the company.





    Source link